FG releases alleged treasury looters’ list

OrijoReporter.com, treasury looters list

The minister of information and culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed on Friday released list of alleged treasury looted during the stewardship of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

Read also: Senator Sani advises Buhari on looters’ list

Mohammad said about the list,  “The PDP has challenged us to name the looters under their watch “They said they did not loot the treasury “Well, I am sure they know that the treasury was looted dry under their watch.

“Yet they decided to grandstand. This shows the hollowness of their apology to Nigerians. “Let’s just give them a teaser with this list: 1. PDP CHAIRMAN UCHE SECONDUS – On the 19th of Feb 2015, he took N200 million only from the office of then NSA 2.

“Then PDP Financial Secretary – On the 24th of Oct 2014, he took N600 million only from the office of then NSA 3. Then National Publicity Secretary Olisah Metuh – On trial for collecting N1.4b from the office of then NSA

“4. Dr. Raymond Dokpesi, Chairman of DAAR Communications – On trial for taking N2.1 billion from the office of then NSA 5. Former SSA to President Jonathan, Dudafa Waripamo-Owei – On trial over N830 million kept in accounts of four different companies 6 Former President Jonathan’s Cousin Robert Azibaola – On Thursday, a Federal High Court ruled that he has a case to answer for collecting $40 million from the office of then NSA

“This list is just a tip of the iceberg, and the PDP is aware of this. We did not make these cases up. Many of these cases are in court and the records are available. “Some of the people on this list are seeking to plea bargain, and that is a fact.

“We insist that Nigeria was looted blind under the watch of the PDP, and that the starting point in tendering an apology is for them to return the loot.

“It’s like a robber admitting to stealing your car and apologizing, but then saying he will keep the car anyway. It doesn’t work that way.

Meanwhile, the Peoples Democratic Party has dismissed the list saying it was an extension of the Federal Government’s media trial.

In a statement released by the party National Publicity Secretary, Kola Ologbondiyan it went on to say that the list was a case of a pot calling a kettle black.

The statement reads in part: “This is a government that is yet to account for $26 billion (N9 trillion) stolen through corrupt oil contracts in the NNPC, N1.1 trillion worth of crude diverted to service APC interests, N18 billion Internally Displaced Persons (IDP) intervention fund stolen by APC officials, including their former Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Babachir Lawal.

“The N10 billion National Health Insurance Scheme (NHIS) for which members of the Buhari cabal were indicted, as well as the Mainagate, where the APC government recalled and reinstated an individual indicted for scam running into billions of naira.”

Sign up for our daily newsletter

Get the latest news delivered straight to your inbox every day. Stay informed with the Orijo Reporter's leading coverage of Nigerian and world news.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here