APC bans 2 ministers from contesting governorship primaries


The ruling All Progressive Congress, APC, has disqualified two serving ministers, from contesting governorship elections in their states.

Read Also: APC’s Oyetola wins Osun gov poll

The affected ministers are that of communication and information technology, Adebayo Shittu and women affairs Aisha Alhassan. The duo were not cleared by the party’s screening committees.

While Shiitu was disqualified on account of his failure to undergo the compulsory one year National Youth Service Corps, the reason for not clearing Alhassan was not known as at press time.

However, it may not be unconnected to her open declaration to support former Vice-President Abubakar Atiku’s presidential bid on the platform of Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

Three other ministers Usani Uguru Usani of the ministry of Niger Delta, Mansur Ali, who heads the Ministry of Defence and Mustapha Shehu, Minister of State, Power, Works and Housing were cleared to contest.

Sign up for our daily newsletter

Get the latest news delivered straight to your inbox every day. Stay informed with the Orijo Reporter's leading coverage of Nigerian and world news.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here